Painting Cavern Tiles – Part 1

I’ve found plenty of online tutorials, videos, and blog posts about how to paint standard dungeon tiles – carved stone floors and walls or similar. I found the information on how to paint cavern tiles woefully light. Yes, Dwarven Forge has a decent video which is a good starting place – and where I started experimenting for my own style – but it wasn’t quite what I was looking for. After quite a few false starts and scrapped ideas, I settled on a method I quite like. It’s more involved than a standard dungeon tile – which is basically base coat, dry brush, dry brush – but I think it’s worth it in the end.

The tiles I’ll be painting were 3D printed on a MakerGear M2 at 200 micron layer height. The models are from www.printablescenery.com – definitely one of my favorite resources.

After printing I spray paint with black primer. Any brand will do, though specifically I use Rustoleum 2x Flat Black.

20170430_095200

Allow adequate drying time, then using a decently wide brush, base coat the floor a deep brown. I’ve used Blick Studio Acrylics Burnt Umber. It has a sort of reddish-brown hue. The walls should be base coated in a light tan. Here I’ve used Khaki from the Apple Barrel line. (side note: I’ve only recently discovered Apple Barrel acrylics. They’re fantastic. At Wal-Mart they’re only $0.50 for a 2 oz. tube!)

20170430_111734

Next time we’ll start picking out some details in the wall formations.

Leave a Reply

